top of page

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Lo sposo deluso, ossia La rivalità di tre donne per un solo amante (The Deluded Bridegroom, or The Rivalry of Three Women for One Lover) is a two-act opera buffa, K. 430, composed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart between 1783 and 1784. However, the opera was never completed and only a 20-minute fragment from act 1 exists.

Mozart had originally planned to have the opera performed by a seven-member Italian troupe in Vienna. Although it was once thought that Lorenzo Da Ponte might have been the author of the libretto, scholarship by Alessandra Campana has established that the libretto was written by an unknown Italian poet for Domenico Cimarosa's opera Le donne rivali, which he composed for the Rome carnival season of 1780. According to Neal Zaslaw, Cimarosa's librettist may have been Giuseppe Petrosellini, the house poet of the Teatro Valle where Le donne rivali premiered. (Petrosellini was also the probable librettist of Mozart's earlier opera La finta giardiniera). For Lo sposo deluso, Mozart had the characters in Le donne rivali expanded from five to seven, renamed the original five, and established the cast of singers for whom he would be writing. It is unclear why he abandoned the work, although Zaslaw has proposed that it was a combination of the difficulties presented by re-writing and adapting the libretto for the Viennese audience and the fact that in 1785, Da Ponte had finally come through with the libretto for Le nozze di Figaro.

The first recorded performance of material from Lo sposo deluso dates from 15 November 1797, six years after Mozart's death. Mozart's widow, Constanze, arranged for the overture and opening quartet to be performed at the Estates Theatre in Prague during a concert highlighting the musical debut of their youngest son, Franz Xavier Mozart. 

In 1991, the 200th anniversary of Mozart's death, Opera North premièred The Jewel Box, a pasticcio opera devised by Paul Griffiths. This used the existing pieces from Lo sposo deluso and L'oca del Cairo as well as arias written by Mozart for insertion into operas by Anfossi, Piccini and Cimarosa, among others.

KV 430 (424a/Anh109c) - Lo sposo deluso 


- Sinfonia (0:00)
- Quartetto I,1 (Pulcherio, Bocconio, Bettina, Astrubale) Ah che ridere (4:58)
- Aria I,3 (Eugenia) Nacqui all'aura trionfale (10:03)
- Aria I,4 (Pulcherio) Dove mai trovar quel ciglio? (13:49)
- Terzetto I,9 (Bocconio, Astrubale, Eugenia) Che accidenti (17:52)


Bocconio Papparelli, a rich but stupid man, betrothed to Eugenia
Eugenia, a young Roman noblewoman, betrothed to Papparelli but in love with Don Asdrubale
Don Asdrubale, a Tuscan army officer
Bettina, Papparelli's vain young niece, also in love with Don Asdrubale
Pulcherio, the misogynist friend of Papparelli
Gervasio, Eugenia's tutor, in love with Metilde
Metilde, a virtuoso singer and dancer and friend of Bettina, also in love with Don Asdrubale

bottom of page